About Council

Share this page


About Council

The Waimate District Council consists of a Mayor, eight Councillors and staff. The Mayor and Councillors are elected every three years and represent four wards:

  1. Waimate Urban
  2. Lower Waihao
  3. Hakataramea-Waihaorunga
  4. Pareora-Otaio-Makikihi

Ultimate responsibility for all the District Council's activities rests with Council. Council decides the range of services and activities to be provided, sets the policy for these services and activities, delegates the implementation of these to staff and monitors their performance.

While Council has at times considerable freedom and opportunity to exercise its initiative in deciding its aim and policies, it must do this within the laws, regulations and requirements set down by central government. A local authority may only undertake those activities which are permitted by central government.

As well as providing services itself, Council may contract for services to be provided and assist many other organisations through membership, technical services, advice and financial grants.

Waimate District Council is headed by the Chief Executive, who is responsible to the elected Council for ensuring the effective, efficient and economic management of all Council's activities.

To carry out its function Council is divided into the following departments.

  • Assets
  • Community and Strategy
  • Regulatory and Compliance
  • Corporate Services
  • Executive Office