Civic Awards

Share this page


Civic Awards

Each year Waimate Civic Awards are awarded to people who have been recognised for their community service in the voluntary sector.

Council advertises the annual awards each year, usually between December and January, asking that people nominate someone who has made a significant, voluntary contribution to Waimate.

Recipients are honoured for the work they tirelessly do in the district, often with little thanks or recognition.


  1. Adult
  2. Youth
  3. Group/Organisation

Civic Awards contact

Committee Secretary
Phone: +64 3 689 0000

2018 Recipients

Back row (l-r): Mayor Craig Rowley, Honor Cox, Jean Patterson, Kathleen McLean, Gaynor Patterson, Lynda Holland, Queenie Dela Cruz. Front row (l-r): Ngaire Duffy, Joy McIvor, Joan Dennison, Dorothy McCabe, Margaret Murphy, Diane Smith

Back Row (l-r): Mayor Craig Rowley, Deputy Fire Chief Roger Bell, Ross Hedley, Lyndsay Hossack, Alf Billett, Glen Billet, Raewyn Francis. Front Row (l-r): Rochelle Wilson, Denise Campbell, and Nancy Dobbie

Last year's recipients

  • Alf Billett
  • Glen Billett
  • Denise Campbell
  • Nancy Dobbie
  • Ross Hedley (posthumous award to the family of the late Cheryl Hedley)
  • Lyndsay Hossack
  • Rochelle Wilson (Youth)